Marijuana Law Worst Places to Get Busted

Unfortunately, despite the fact, the cannabis has numerous medical benefits and has literally no recorded deaths it is still widely illegal. In America, it is currently listed as a Schedule 1 controlled substance. Under federal marijuana law, possession of any amount of cannabis can land you up to a year in jail and a $1000 fine. Sale of any amount less than 50kg can land you a felony charge with five years in jail and a $250,000 fine. However, it’s relatively unlikely that you would be busted by a federal agent, in most cases, you will be charged by local and state authorities.

Federal marijuana law is exceedingly strict, and while some states currently have recreationally legal marijuana; many have incredibly harsh laws. So just what are the worst states to get busted in?

marijuana law

#1 would be Arizona

Arizona has the worst marijuana law out of any state in the country. It is the only state in the U.S where getting busted with any amount of cannabis is an instant felony. Every year approximately 20,000 people are arrested in Arizona for cannabis related charges. Out of those 20,000 arrests over 90% of them are solely for possession. Possessing any amount of cannabis under two pounds is a Class 6 felony that will result in an automatic minimum jail sentence of at least four months and a maximum sentence of two years.

#2 would have to be Florida

Getting busted in the sunshine state with less than 20 grams of dank will net you a maximum $1000 fine and up to one year in jail. However, possessing any amount between 20 grams and 25 lbs will land you a felony charge along with a maximum $5000 fine and 5 years in jail. To top it off, according to NORML, Florida punishes more people for minor marijuana offenses than any other state in the country.

#3 is Louisiana

For first time offenders, Louisiana does have relatively lax cannabis possession laws. On a first offense charge, possessing less than 14g will only cost you a $300 fine and a maximum of 15 days in jail. And a first offense charge possessing more than 14g but less than 2.5lbs will get you a maximum of a $500 fine and 6 months in jail. However, a second pot possession conviction in the state is classified as a felony, and is punishable by up to five years in jail. And third times offenders can find up to 20 years in prison.

So now that we’ve covered the worst states to get busted with cannabis in, what are the worst countries?

Let’s start off with indonesia. Getting caught with any amount of cannabis in Indonesia, even something as small as a single joint can land you up to four years in prison. And if you happen to import cannabis into the country for some reason, You can get between five and fifteen years in prison.

The United Arab Emirates have pretty harsh laws as well. Getting caught with the smallest trace of cannabis in Dubai will get you a mandatory four-year jail sentence. In fact if any THC is found in your blood or your urine that can also count as possession. So if you’re heading anywhere near Dubai better watch out!

And another horrible country for marijuana possession would be Malaysia. Possession of any amount of cannabis in Malaysia can get you up to five years in prison as well as an over $5000 fine. And if you’re caught growing cannabis in the country, you can literally get life in prison. In 2010 a man was jailed in Malaysia for eight years just for possessing 58 grams of marijuana.

These are just a few of the bad countries you don’t want to get busted in. If you’re a world traveler, better watch out!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *